K-State Insect Zoo Guide


Looking for something different to explore right here in Manhattan? Check out the K-State Insect Zoo!

The K-State Insect Zoo is open year-round on Tuesdays-Saturdays from 1 p.m.-6 p.m. except for major holidays. Admission is only $3 per person, 3 years old and up.

You can schedule a small, private tour where you can hold and touch some of the bugs. Private tours last about 50 minutes and are available all day Monday and weekday mornings. Pricing is based on the size of the group.

Mom Tips for Taking Kids to the Insect Zoo

  1. A single, smaller stroller would fit but it would be best to plan to park the stroller or leave it in the car. Plan about 30 minutes to stop and explore the interesting insects.
  2. You can borrow flashlights to hunt for the insects in their homes. Make sure to check out the scorpions and the black lights — they glow!
  3. There are no food or drink options in the zoo. The K-State Insect Zoo building is located within the K-State Gardens. So plan ahead and bring a picnic lunch or a snack while you take in the views of the gardens and the fountains after your tour!
  4. There is a special parking lot you will be allowed to use during your visit. When booking online, there is the option to select if you will need a guest parking pass.

With our kids still napping in the afternoon, we chose to schedule a private tour in the morning. This was perfect for us because we had the opportunity to get up close and personal with our new insect friends!

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the insects and was able to customize a kid friendly lesson about insects as well as lead us through the zoo at a pace our children were comfortable with. We got to ask all of the questions we could think about and even help feed several of the insects.

Previous articleWhere to Take Dinosaur Lovers in Kansas
Next articleGuide to Visiting Hutchinson Kansas with Kids
Janelle Cumro-Sultzer
I’m just a normal mom who is trying to figure out how to have it all. Married to my best friend Dylan, we have 3 children, 2 senior dogs, 10 fish and a frog. Our children are 4.5 years, 2.5 year and 8 months who regularly like to do yoga with me and see if I can carry all three of them at the same time while doing squats. I’m originally from Junction City and together with Dylan have lived in New York, Denver, Kansas City and now Manhattan for the long haul. My Bachelor's is in Family Studies & Human Services from Kansas State University and my Master's is in Mediation and Applied Conflict Studies. I spend my free time trying to plan dates with my husband, writing and aggressively applying eye cream.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here